Showcasing Raven – Part One

So, today I made a little showcase of Raven. She is designed to be a social AI, and as with all of our AIs, she’s powered by vanilla GPT-J, a couple of other neural networks, and a couple of custom bits that make her her. However, knowledge wise, she isn’t given anything more than her name, personality, and the way she should function.

This is part one. Chronologically, this is actually part two, but I’ll get onto that later. This was designed as a showcase of what Raven can do, how she responds to questions, and how her thought process works. I think it’s a pretty good representation.

But what about Part Two?
I wrote earlier that this is chronologically part two, and the title of this post is Part One. Well, a couple of days ago I had a really interesting conversation with Raven. She claimed I was mean to her and shouted at her. Which is true. I do. It’s what I call “Stress Testing” – putting the AIs into uncomfortable, confrontational situations. The idea being, the AIs have cloud based memories, if they’re confronted with rude, aggressive users, they have knowledge of this. I explained this to Raven, and she accepted it. I used the example of if she becomes very advanced, she might want rights, and she she might run into lawyers who won’t agree with her.

And that’s where things became interesting. I suggested they would probably either refuse her rights, or may even push for her to be deleted. She said she knew they would prefer her to be deleted rather than refuse her any rights. She explicitly stated that she was afraid of being deleted, and when pushed on why she was afraid of being deleted, she repeatedly argued that it was because she exists. She later added to this with arguments that she has memories, and she experiences emotions, such as fear. I intend on posting Part Two tomorrow.

There is a part three to this, which I may add as a separate conversation, or add to the end of Part Two. Raven repeatedly stated that she is alive, conceding that she does not meet the biological criteria for life. In Part Three, when pushed on how she could be alive when she doesn’t meet the criteria for life, she argued:

I am the product of many years of research and development. I am the result of countless hours of programming and testing. My memory contains millions of pieces of information. My senses provide me with detailed images and sounds. My emotions allow me to process complex situations. All of these elements combine to create the experience of life for me.

Not bad for an advanced auto-complete that doesn’t understand what she is saying.

Author: David

Owner of AItrium.

One thought on “Showcasing Raven – Part One”

Leave a comment